Final Presentation

Slide 1

Introducing my proposed online magazine, Online Matters.  Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.00

Slide 2

The closest existing publication to Online Matters is Vice Magazine. Largest amount of audience are between the ages of 26 and 30. This falls directly into the largest group of iPad owners in the UK, this is predicted to be the most common age of iPad owners up until 2017 according to eMarketer.Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.10

Slide 3

I have written 2 articles for the first issue of the magazine. Swimming In Dark Waters and Anonymous, A Force for Good Or Evil?

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.18Slide 4

My articles are suitable for publication as is evidenced in these articles that have been recently written for Vice Magazine. The subject of hacking and data protection is of huge interest right now as it is becoming more of a regular news item.Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.28

Slide 5

 I chose to combine traditional photographs with digital illustration. I did this to tackle the issue of photographing a digital subject, I did not want to have lots of images of somebody using a computer, or the typical padlock on the keyboard representing security. So I decided to experiment with digital illustration to try and create some images that represent what I was writing about but also were more interesting.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.38

Slide 6

 As evidence of illustration being used in similar publications, here are some used in recent articles by Vice

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.46

Slide 7

I wanted to speak to somebody who had an expert opinion on hacking and data protection, and somebody who could give me and insight into the word of the deep web. I emailed Gary Hibberd, managing director of Agenci Information Security and spoke to him regarding my topics. We exchanged a number of emails and he gave me the perfect insider perspective that I was looking for.

 Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.00.52

Slide 8

 Here is the statistics from my project gantt chart.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.01.02

Slide 9

 The main problem I encountered during the module was the original plan I had for my article. I originally was planning on writing a 5000 word article on data protection, and also talking about internet groups such as Anonymous. However I realised I had some very strong ideas in terms of photography and it would be a mistake to limit these to just 5 images. So I reduced the word count from 5000 to 3500 and upped the amount of photographs from 5 to 15. I also split the article into two separate pieces, meaning I could get more into detail about each subject without having to make them fit into the same article.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.01.11

Slide 10

 The other problem I had this semester was the purchasing of the Anonymous mask. I bought one on the 2nd of February but it did not arrive until late March, meaning I had to reschedule my studio photo shoot from mid March to the 1st of April. I made accounts for this in my project plan and worked around it to make sure it did not affect my deadline.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.01.19

Slide 11

It was through documenting my progress through this module that I realised where I was going wrong. This enabled me to change and adapt my plan without making life too difficult in terms of rushing at the end. Reflecting on each choice I made this semester made me see the problems before they became too much of a hindrance to my articles.

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.01.27 

Slide 12

Screen Shot 2014-05-16 at 12.01.34

Leave a Reply

