Mask On Black Background, Shoot & Editing Process

For the main image for the Anonymous article I wanted to have a full page shot of the mask against a pitch black background. I had been looking at Anonymous images on the internet and wanted to create something a little like this:

1384879471914

 

I could of taken one of the images from a model wearing the mask and masked out the surrounding background and the eyes but I wanted something I could scale large enough on the page without seeing any imperfections that might come from masking.

So I used a portable photography backdrop, these are most commonly used in product photography as they allow you to create images like the iPhone below.

Apple-style-test4875

The Equipment

This is the backdrop I used. Very easy to set up and the sides diffuse the light coming through so you don’t have any harsh lighting on the subject.

IMG_7678 IMG_7676 IMG_7677 IMG_7675 IMG_7671

The shots

After taking a number of images of the mask this is what I got

IMG_7531

I can now edit this in photoshop to remove the background. The backdrop makes this a lot easier than if I had used an image of somebody wearing the mask or if I had tried to prop the mask up against something.

Editing

The editing process for this image is fairly simple. First I loaded the image into Adobe Photoshop.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 22.57.27

I then created a duplicate layer and dropped the exposure down so the base of the backdrop and the back wall were the same shade of black.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 22.54.30

I then created a mask layer and used the paintbrush tool to paint the mask back into the image so it is not too dark. This means that the mask remains lit as I wanted, but the background is all one shade of black.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 22.55.51

I then merged the layers and used the eye dropper tool to select the black background and enabled that colour as my paintbrush colour. I then painted the white walls with the same shade of black as the background. This is the final image, the mask on a black background without the hassle of deleting complicated backgrounds.

Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 22.56.33

 

Leave a Reply

