Credit Card Theft Image

I wanted a photograph that could represent the theft of personal and finical information. A quick look on google showed me that most images showing this are not that imaginative or creative. Here are some examples:

Steps-You-Should-Take-After-Credit-Card-Theft credit-card-identity-theft credit-card-theft

I feel that my strengths are in my photography and image editing, so I decided to use these strengths to create something a little more interesting than these images above.

The Shots

I wanted to create the illusion that an arm was reaching out of the computer screen to steal a credit card that had been left unprotected. To do this I took two images.

The first of the laptop with the wallet open and cards spilled out. (for the purpose of this tutorial I have blacked out the card details, in the final image I photoshopped the numbers out, ironic if I was writing an article on data protection and got my card details stolen in the process)

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 00.06.16

The second with the laptop lid lowered down and an arm stretching out through the area that the screen had been.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 00.04.53

Editing Process

I loaded both images into Adobe Photoshop and layered one image over the top of the other.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 00.06.51

I then created a mask over the top image and painted the arm front the second photo into the image, making sure to stop at the lid of the open laptop.

Screen Shot 2014-05-19 at 00.08.42

Final Image

I neatened up the line between the arm and the laptop lid and removed the numbers and personal information from the bank cards… just to be safe.

stealingcards

Leave a Reply

