Swimming in Dark Waters article images.

One half of my final project is an article about the dangers of cyber crime and the importance data protection, entitled:

Swimming In Dark Waters.

For this article I wanted to create images and graphics that you would see in an article with a subject such as the internet. During research I found that most magazines and newspapers used standard images such as  close up of a persons hands on a keyboard, somebody wearing a balaclava whilst on a computer and so on.

I wanted to create something a little different in my images and used photoshop to create representations of a hacker with a hidden identity, and to symbolise the anonymity that the internet offers us.

Image 1 & 2

My first 2 images are visual representations of anonymous internet users or hackers. In this image I obscured the face with a motion blur and pixelated the edges of the face. I waned the ‘hacker’ in casual clothes in a home environment, a reference to the younger generation of people who are tech savvy and have a deep understanding of the internet world.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 20.09.06

With the second image I wanted involved a storm water texture I downloaded from Deviant Art. I did this because I wanted to reference the terms used in my article relating the internet to water. In the article I refer to the internet as a gigantic ocean, search engines are fishing trawlers, and who doesn’t like to dip their toes? I wanted to carry on with this water theme, I also used a code brush to add a digital aspect to the background. Again I obscured the face of the ‘hacker’ this is by using the clone brush in photoshop to remove the features of the face, to create a blank person, avoid of any kind of identity.

Screen Shot 2014-05-02 at 00.42.19

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-03 at 18.36.37

 Image 3

I created a graphic to go with this article. I wanted to create a visual representation of decryption software, the blurred code in the background representing seemingly impossible to read and safe encrypted data, the magnifying glass acting as the decryption software and the clear text in the glass being the stolen data with the words ‘your data is not safe’ highlighted in yellow.

Screen Shot 2014-05-03 at 18.33.38

Leave a Reply

