Interview transcription

Sent:  26 March 2014 15:27

Hello Gary,

I believe you talked to Julie Smith about a possible interview for the magazine article I am writing. 

I read the paper you sent and really found it interesting, I would love to have a talk with you.
The article I am writing is focused on matters including protection of data and internet groups such as Anonymous so it would be great to talk to somebody who has an expert opinion on this.
We can either talk via email or set up a face to face at a time and place suitable to you, whichever you would prefer.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to speaking soon.

Regards,
Jordan Smith


 

Sent: 31 March 2014 12:52

Hi Jordan

Apologies for the delay in responding.  I’ve been a little busy of late.

Why don’t we arrange a telephone interview rather than drag you to our offices?  Alternatively if you have a series of questions you need answering you can just email them over and I’ll answer as fully as I can.  Let me know your preference (it’s your paper after all 🙂 )

My details are below.

Kind regards
 
Gary
Gary Hibberd
Managing Director
Agenci Information Security  (AIS) Consultancy


 

Sent: 31st March 2014 13:30

Hi Gary

Thank you for your reply
Perhaps email would be the better option as I have studio photo shoots over the next few days during working hours and I don’t mean to make it an inconvenience for you.
What I am wanting to talk about is the internet that most people do not know about, the Deep web and the DarkNet you write about in your white paper. I have researched these areas but found it difficult to find an explanation in layman’s terms that I can transfer to my audience. One key area I am interested in is SilkRoad, something that I have read about never visited (not knowing if I should show caution).
The other main topic is Anonymous. I’ll list the questions I would like to ask below.
Questions:
  • What kind of impact can Anonymous have on our society? (are they the ‘digital Robin Hoods’ and ‘freedom fighters’ their supporters hail them to be, or the ‘cyber lynch mob’ and ‘terrorists’ their critics label them as?)
  • What does the future hold for digital security? Cyber crime is something most people know nothing about, what can the average person do to protect their data and privacy from hackers?
  • Is it feasible to combat cyber criminals in our current situation (budget issues and lack of public knowledge) 
  • What kind of legality surround sites like ‘SilkRoad’ and navigating the deep web using tools such as ‘TOR’?
Also, I would like to know your opinion on the matter of internet censorship. David Cameron has unveiled ‘opt in’ plan for adult content, some people argue that such censorship doesn’t just block harmful sites, but educational sexual health websites and even sites tailored for helping people cope with mental health and abuse. Do you think this is a step in the right direction or a step closer to restricting the public’s access to information. China famously has the firewall dubbed ‘The great Firewall of China’, this is obviously on the other end of the censorship scale to the laws in place in the UK but I would like to know your opinion on the ethics of having such a restrict information access.
Lastly would you have any objection to being named in my article? The article itself will not be published, it is being submitted for university marking only. 
Thank you for your time Gary and I greatly appreciate any help you can give me.
Kind regards,
Jordan Smith

Sent: 31st March 2014 13:42

Hi Jordan,

 These look like great questions! Wow… where do I start!! Lol..

 Do you have a deadline I need to hit?  I’ll put some thought into these questions and give you as full an answer to each so you can craft it into a suitable format for your paper.

 I have no problem in your using my name in your paper and to be honest, the answers may be quite detailed and may end up being published as a paper anyway! 

 Let me know about the deadline and I’ll set to work to hit it for you.

 Thanks,

Gary


Sent: 31st March 2014 13:54

Hi Gary,

As for a deadline I don’t mean to make it difficult but really the sooner the better, I am writing the article now and shall craft it in a way where I can add the interview at a later date. Any time within the next two weeks will give me enough time to write it up and tailor my article before my deadline. I hope this is okay with you, if you have any problems then let me know and we can sort something out.
Thank you
Jordan Smith

Sent: 1st April 15:44

Hi Jordan

 That should be fine. I’ll get on with it over the next couple of days and get it to you ASAP.

 Regards

 Gary


7th April 15:02

Hi Jordan

 Here you go… Hope this is ok.

 Let me know what you think.  If you need anything changing or expanding upon please feel free to let me know.

 Best of luck with it.  I would be interested in seeing the finished paper when you’re done with it.

 Kind regards

 Gary

Gary Hibberd


Sent: 8th April 2014 12:49

Hi Gary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer those questions, What you have written has definitely helped my understanding and will no doubt prove invaluable to my article.
As a thank you I would be happy to sponsor you and wish you luck on your challenge.
I’ll make sure to send you a copy of the article when I have finished it.
Kind regards
Jordan

Leave a comment