Anonymous Mask Studio Shoot + Editing Reflecition

Shoot

Today I booked out the university studio to do my second photo shoot. What I wanted to achieve by the end of the shoot was to get some portraits of a suited figure wearing the mask. I wanted the model to wear a suit because I wanted these images to reflect the image Anonymous puts out about themselves, and that is usually formal and smart.

I asked my friend to help with the studio set up and light recordings to save time as I did not have long in the studio. The shoot itself went without any problems, I took some close up shots of the mask as well as a wider view of the entire figure.

I am happy with the shoot result, my plan is to use regular images for my Anonymous article as well as create some more abstract illustrations using photoshop such as these I found below.

shepard_fairey_fawkes_occupy_hope

wip

Editing Process 

Image 1

The first image I created is going to be the image that appears above the start of my Anonymous article. I wanted to create a glitch effect on the photo as if the image has suffered damage. I chose to do this because I wanted to reference the use of digital devices and the internet as well as make it a little more interesting. Magazines such as Vice that have a large focus on arts and culture often use different creative medias such as illustration as well as photographs. Such as this image taken from Vice Magazine below:

9d8a2af1-967b-4334-90d8-b4578fa238f1

I’m happy with the way it looks, I didn’t want to over do the glitch effect and make it hard to see. Here is the final image:

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 14.38.24

Image 2

Another image I edited heavily was this one of a silhouette with a thumb print over the top of the face. The text in the background is the widely used tagline of Anonymous. The use of the silhouette with the thumb print is to represent the hidden identity that members of Anonymous have. I wanted to create something more abstract than a regular image to show this. Here is the final image:

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 14.41.41

Image 3

The third image I edited heavily is the image of the mask with a text overlay. Again the use of the tagline ‘we are legion’ is used as this is featured heavily in Anonymous related posters and graphics. I found inspriation for this image after reading an article on clearingthefogradio.org which featured this image:

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 13.55.17

And here is my final image:

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 14.41.56

If I were to do the shoot again I would perhaps done some product type shots of the mask laying on a table next to a computer, or something other than it being worn. But this is something I can always do at a later date as I have enough time before deadline.

 

Leave a Reply

