Welcome page

The first page I want my visitors to land on is the welcome page, here I will create an image from one of my photographs on my site, with the word ‘Welcome’ written across it.

I found the width of the page to be 960px wide, this meant that whatever image I used, it had to be at least that wide.

I chose this image of a young girl I took as I think the eyes are very striking.

mad

I loaded the image into photoshop on a canvas size of 960 pixels.

Screen Shot 2013-11-12 at 12.24.32

I arranged the image how I wanted it, with the face slightly more to the right, leaving room for the welcoming message, however this left part of the canvass uncovered.

Screen Shot 2013-11-12 at 12.48.27

I rectified this by using the clone tool to paint over the white background with more sea.

Screen Shot 2013-11-12 at 12.48.54

I then went to the website LostType and searched for a font that would match the style on my website. LostType provides a service that is pay as much as you want. It is possible to download any font free however all of your donation goes straight to the font designers, LostType takes no funds from whatever you decide to pay.

I settled on this font called Tommaso as it is modern and suits the rest of my site.

Screen Shot 2013-11-12 at 12.21.11

I wrote ‘WELCOME’ across the left hand side of the image, blended the colour of the text with the image and here is my final welcome banner.

welcome copy

Leave a Reply

